Savannah License Suspension Lawyer

Home /  Savannah License Suspension Lawyer

Savannah License Suspension Attorney

Driving is a privilege, not a right. In Georgia, there are many ways you can lose your driving privileges.DUI charges, driving without insurance and other traffic infractions can result in a suspended license. At Jarrett Maillet J.D., P.C., our Savannah, GA license suspension lawyers understand how difficult it is to earn a living and live your life without a driver’s license.

Our Savannah criminal defense lawyers do everything in their power to protect our clients’ licenses and restore their driving privileges as quickly as possible. Located in Savannah, our firm represents clients in coastal South Georgia, including students at local colleges and universities, and military and naval personnel at bases throughout the region.

License Suspensions

If you are charged with a DUI, you are at risk of losing your license. In Georgia, the length of your license suspension depends on your age, if you are a juvenile or not, whether you have any prior offenses and the amount of alcohol found in your system:

  • First-time offense — Unless you request an administrative license hearing, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended on the 31st day after your arrest. License suspensions typically last one year. You may request a 30-day work permit and apply for early reinstatement of your license.
  • Second-time offense — If you fail to request an administrative license hearing or lose, your license will be suspended for three years. You are not eligible for a work permit.
  • Third-time offense — If you fail to request an administrative license hearing or lose at the hearing, your license will be suspended for five years. Work permits are not available.

Breath And Blood Test Refusal Penalties

Under Georgia’s implied consent laws, all drivers on the state’s roads are required to submit to a breath or blood test if police have probable cause to believe they are intoxicated. Refusing to submit to a test will result in the immediate suspension of your license that may last up to one year. You must act fast and request an administrative license hearing to prevent license suspension or request a temporary work permit.

Provisional Licenses After Second Conviction

A law in Georgia recently went into effect that helps drivers who have multiple DUI convictions, but it comes with a major catch. The law permits drivers convicted of a second offense to receive a conditional driver’s license, but only if they meet certain requirements.

These restrictions allow drivers to obtain the license 120 days after conviction, but only if they attend an alcohol education course and install an ignition interlock device. The provisional license would only let drivers travel to specific destinations, such as their place of employment. The law went into effect because many individuals convicted of at least two DUI offenses lost their jobs or experienced other significant hardships due to the loss of a driver’s license.

Protect Your License, Contact Us Today

At Jarrett Maillet J.D., P.C., our attorney is former prosecutor, now serving as a DUI attorney in Savannah. During their time with the state, they gained valuable insight into the inner workings of the criminal justice system. They know the defenses and procedures necessary to protect your license. Contact our Savannah license suspension attorneys at 912-713-3426. Consultations are free.