St. Marys DUI Lawyer

Home /  St. Marys DUI Lawyer

St. Marys DUI Attorney

Being convicted of a DUI can seriously impact your reputation, job, and family. It is something that has a long-lasting effect beyond just the legal consequences. It can hinder your housing and finances in the future. If you have been charged with a DUI, a St. Marys DUI lawyer can help.

St. Marys DUI Lawyer

Why Choose Us?

A DUI attorney has the knowledge and experience to fight your charges with a detailed plan of action and support. The law offices of Jarrett Maillet J.D., P.C., can defend you if you’ve been charged with a DUI. With extensive time handling DUI cases, our firm is equipped to handle your case, no matter how complex it may be.

We can stand by you throughout the court process to defend you against a driver’s license suspension and other penalties. We take the time to explain DUI charges to our clients. Together, we can develop a defense strategy aimed at achieving the greatest possible outcome.

DUI Laws in Georgia

Georgia prohibits drivers from operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above, which is standard throughout the United States. If a person is found operating a vehicle at this BAC or above, they can be charged with a DUI (driving under the influence).

There are lower BAC limits for drivers under 21 and commercial drivers. In Georgia, drivers are also prohibited from having an open alcoholic beverage container inside a moving vehicle.

Penalties for DUI Convictions in Georgia

The penalties for a DUI conviction in Georgia depend on how many offenses you have:

  • First DUI Conviction: Penalties include a possible jail sentence of up to one year, fines from $300 to $1,000, a one-year license suspension, and 40 hours of mandatory community service. A $210 reinstatement fee is required to reinstate your license.
  • Second DUI Conviction: This carries a mandatory minimum of 48 hours in jail, fines from $600 to $1,000, a three-year license suspension, and 30 days of community service.
  • Third DUI Conviction: A third DUI results in a mandatory 15 days in jail, fines from $1,000 to $5,000, five-year license revocation, 30 days of community service, and public notification of the conviction.

DUI Less Safe Charges

Driving with any amount of alcohol or drugs (prescription or illegal) in your system can expose you to criminal liability under Georgia’s “DUI Less Safe” laws. A DUI Less Safe charge is as serious as a regular DUI, with similar criminal penalties. After being charged, you have 10 days to request an administrative license hearing or your license will be suspended for a year. The state can prove impairment based on the police officer’s observations without a breath or blood test.

Felony DUI

In Georgia, many DUIs are considered misdemeanors, but there are cases where it can be considered a felony. Multiple DUI offenses, causing serious bodily injury or death, or inflicting property damage, can result in felony DUI charges. Penalties include:

  • Required 90 days in prison
  • One-to-five-year prison sentence
  • Fines up to $5,000
  • Alcohol or drug education program completion
  • Clinical evaluation
  • Community service for 60 days
  • Probation up to five years

A felony DUI conviction can have long-lasting impacts, making it difficult to find a job, housing, or maintain certain rights.

DUI Drugs (DUID) in Georgia

Driving under the influence of drugs (prescription or illegal) is treated similarly to alcohol-based DUIs in St. Marys and throughout all of Georgia. Penalties include:

First and Second Offenses: These are misdemeanors, with penalties of up to one year in jail, fines of up to $1,000, and other penalties, including community service and license suspension.
Third and Subsequent Offenses: These are felonies, with fines of up to $5,000, up to five years in prison, and alcohol education classes.

Under Georgia’s “implied consent” laws, refusing a blood or breath test can result in an immediate license suspension. However, it’s usually in your interest to agree to the test to avoid severe consequences.

FAQs

Q: How Much Does a DUI Cost in Georgia?

A: The cost of a DUI in Georgia will vary based on a number of factors. Generally, the more complex or serious a DUI is, the higher it will cost. Also, the higher the offense, the higher the cost. For example, a third-time DUI will typically cost more than a first-time DUI. Factors that contribute to the cost include attorney fees, fines, license reinstatement fees, probation fees, fees for any required educational classes, and increased insurance costs.

Q: How Much Does a Lawyer Cost for a DUI in Georgia?

A: The cost of a lawyer for a DUI in Georgia will range based on a number of factors. Typically, if a case is more complex or requires additional time for court appearances, gathering evidence, and interviewing witnesses, the higher the cost will be. In some situations, a case can be settled out of court. If the case goes to court, it will typically cost more than one settled out of court. You will also have to factor in the method by which the attorney charges their fees.

Q: Do I Need a Lawyer for a DUI in Georgia?

A: You do not need a lawyer for a DUI in Georgia, as it is not a requirement. However, it is highly recommended that you acquire legal counsel from an attorney if you are charged with a DUI. They understand complex and ever-changing DUI laws, so they know how to advocate for reduced charges and lighter sentences. Additionally, an attorney can represent you at the DMV, and they can build a strong defense strategy by identifying weaknesses in the prosecution’s case.

Q: Can a DUI Be Dismissed in Georgia?

A: A DUI can be dismissed in Georgia, depending on the circumstances. Some common reasons for dismissal include:

  • The officer had a lack of probable cause to stop the vehicle.
  • Sobriety or breathalyzer tests were not administered properly.
  • The defendant’s rights were violated.
  • There is not enough evidence to prove that the defendant was driving under the influence.

Contact Jarrett Maillet J.D., P.C., Today

If you have been arrested for a DUI, you still have rights. Being arrested does not mean that you are automatically guilty. By hiring a St. Marys DUI attorney, you can ensure that all the details of your case are thoroughly examined, confirming that everything was done legally and that your rights were upheld. If they were not, our attorneys can fight for you during your legal process. We can analyze your case and implement an effective defense strategy. Contact the team at Jarrett Maillet J.D., P.C., today for more information.

Testimonials